Witten

With irs population of around 95,000 residents, Witten is the largest city in the Ennepe-Ruhr district on the south-eastern edge of the Ruhr Area. The wooded hills of the Ardey Mountains as well as the Ruhr with its gentle floodplain landscape and the dammed Kemnader Lake characterise the landscape of the city, which is rich in contrasts.

The extremely large natural green belt around the city perimeters lets you feel the proximity to Bergisches Land and the Sauerland region. Forests, agricultural land, green spaces and water areas account for two thirds of the total area of the city. In Witten, the Ruhr Valley cycle path leads directly along the Ruhr river with nearly no inclines. The Hohenstein recreation area, the leisure centre on Lake Kemnade and the Muttental valley are sights particularly worth seeing. The Kemnader reservoir with its Ruhr-In-Line skating path is a true El Dorado for inline skaters. The illuminated circuit of about 11 km in length has been in operation since 2013.
More than 30 testimonies of mining history as well as reconstructed industrial monuments line a 9 km long hiking trail. The LWL Industrial Museum Nachtigall colliery presents about 300 years of mining history in the Ruhr Valley. In the Nachtigall gallery, you can experience the world "underground" up close and discover the very last preserved coal seam. The museum is located directly on the Ruhr Valley cycle path and close to the stops of the Ruhr Valley Railway and the MS Schwalbe.

LWL-Industriemuseum Zeche Nachtigall und Bergbaurundwanderweg Muttental

You can experience 450 years of mining history at the local recreation area Wittener Muttental. Over 30 stations on foot or with the museum railway depict a vivid picture of the origins of mining. These include the LWL Industrial Museum, the visitor gallery, the mine and light railway museum as well as the former miners' prayer house.

Details

MS "Schwalbe" auf der Ruhr in Witten

Excursion boat trip to Lake Kemnade

Details

Gruben- und Feldbahnmuseum Zeche Theresia und Muttenthalbahn in Witten

The site of the former Theresia colliery with its historic buildings is located nearby the Ruhr river, directly along the Ruhr Valley cycle path.

Details

Loading

loader
Menu

Address

Stadtmarketing Witten GmbH Tourist & Ticket Service

Marktstr. 7
58452
 Witten

phone 02302 / 19433

fax 02302 / 12236
info@stadtmarketing-witten.de

Witten

Witten ist mit rund 95.000 Einwohnern die größte Stadt des Ennepe-Ruhr-Kreises am südöstlichen Rand des Ruhrgebietes. Die bewaldeten Hügel des Ardeygebirges sowie die Ruhr mit ihrer sanften Flussauenlandschaft und dem aufgestauten Kemnader See prägen das Landschaftsbild der kontrastreichen Stadt.

Der überaus große Grüngürtel rund um das Stadtgebiet lässt die Nähe zum Bergischen Land und Sauerland spüren. Wald, landwirtschaftliche Flächen, Grünanlagen und Wasserflächen nehmen zwei Drittel der gesamten Fläche des Stadtgebietes ein. In Witten führt der RuhrtalRadweg fast ohne Steigungen unmittelbar an der Ruhr entlang. Besonders sehenswert sind das Naherholungsgebiet Hohenstein, das Freizeitzentrum am Kemnader See sowie das Muttental. Der Kemnader Stausee mit seiner Ruhr-In-Line-Skaterbahn gilt als Eldorado für Inlineskater. Seit 2013 gibt hier es einen abends beleuchteten etwa 11 km langen Rundkurs.
Mehr als 30 Zeugnisse des Bergbaus sowie detailgetreu rekonstruierte Industriedenkmäler säumen einen 9 km langen bergbaugeschichtlichen Wanderweg. Das LWL-Industriemuseum Zeche Nachtigall informiert über 300 Jahre Bergbaugeschichte im Ruhrtal. Im Nachtigallstollen erleben Sie die Welt „unter Tage“ und entdecken das letzte erhaltene Kohleflöz. Das Museum liegt direkt am RuhrtalRadweg und nahe den Haltestellen der RuhrtalBahn und der MS Schwalbe.

LWL-Industriemuseum Zeche Nachtigall und Bergbaurundwanderweg Muttental

Im Naherholungsgebiet Wittener Muttental kann man 450 Jahre Bergbaugeschichte erleben. Über 30 Stationen zu Fuß oder mit der Museumsbahn informieren über den Ursprung des Bergbaus. Dazu zählen das LWL-Industriemuseum, der Besucherstollen, das Gruben- und Feldbahnmuseum sowie das ehemalige Bethaus der Bergleute.

Details

MS "Schwalbe" auf der Ruhr in Witten

Ausflugsschiffahrt zum Kemnader See

Details

Gruben- und Feldbahnmuseum Zeche Theresia und Muttenthalbahn in Witten

Nahe der Ruhr, direkt am RuhrtalRadweg, liegt das Gelände der ehemaligen Zeche Theresia mit ihren historischen Gebäuden.

Details

Loading

loader
Menü

Adresse

Stadtmarketing Witten GmbH Tourist & Ticket Service

Marktstr. 7
58452
 Witten

Telefon 02302 / 19433

Fax 02302 / 12236
info@stadtmarketing-witten.de