Herdecke

Herdecke is known as "the city between the Ruhr lakes". Located directly on the Ruhr river, surrounded by Lake Hengstey and Lake Harkort, the idyllic little town has an exceptionally high recreational value. A whopping 74 percent of the urban area consists of water and forest areas.

Herdecke is a destination and starting point for cycling, hiking and canoeing tours. The beautiful landscape in Herdecke itself and its environs is ideal for cyclists, not least because of the lakes and the Ruhr river. Herdecke is also well prepared for multi-day tours with bicycle-friendly accommodation. Herdecke also offers many opportunities for hiking with the Jakobsweg, the WestfalenWanderWeg and the Route of Industrial Heritage. Herdecke can be explored by water with a canoe tour.

A visit to the city centre and the historic city centre with its unmistakable charm is definitely also a trip worth taking. A guidance system, with which visitors can reach the adjoining historic city centre after a few metres from the banks of the Ruhr, points the way through the picturesque Bach quarter and around the 1,000 year old Stiftshügel. Numbered information boards on historical buildings make it easy for visitors to find the historic sights.

Koepchen-Pumpspeicherwerk

Industrial culture at its best

Details

Harkortsee

Lake Harkort begins about 2 km west of the confluence of the Volme and the Ruhr, and extends to the west.

Details

Altstadt Herdecke

Herdecke's location along the Ruhr rover between Hengstey lake and Harkort lake is certainly a privilege, which is also reflected in the city itself: the historic city centre with its pretty half-timbered houses is quaint and beautiful.

Details

Werner Richard - Dr. Carl Dörken Stiftung - KUNSTPAUSE

The Werner Richard - Dr. Carl Dörken Foundation in Herdecke aims to promote culture, support commitment and preserve values.

NRW Culture Minister Ute Schäfer called the foundation a "jewel for the region" during her visit.
In addition to the emphasis on music and musical education, the fields of sport, education, science, social affairs and monument protection in Westphalia are also supported.
The Werner Richard - Dr. Carl Dörken Foundation also annually awards music scholarships to exceptional young talents. Regular classical, jazz and world music concert series are held in the Werner Richard Hall of the Foundation, such as 'Masters of Tomorrow', 'Best of NRW' and 'Masters from all over the World'. WDR often uses the excellent acoustics for recordings.

The art sponsorship area (Dr. Carl Dörken Galerie) includes the museum's own collection, which deals with the phenomenon of colour. Works from the 'Colour as Colour' collection are made available to museums on permanent loan. In a second funding line, the Foundation purchases works by young artists to enable them to take part in exhibitions, catalogues or to study.

Details

Loading

loader
Menu

Address

Stadt Herdecke

Kirchplatz 3
58313
 Herdecke

phone 02330 / 611212

fax 02330 / 61115212
touristinfo@herdecke.de

Herdecke

Herdecke ist „die Stadt zwischen den Ruhrseen“. Unmittelbar an der Ruhr gelegen, umsäumt vom Hengstey- und Harkortsee hat das idyllische Städtchen einen außergewöhnlich hohen Freizeit- und Erholungswert. Stolze 74 Prozent des Stadtgebietes bestehen aus Wasser- und Waldflächen.

Herdecke ist Ziel und Ausgangspunkt von Rad-, Wander- oder Kanutouren. Die schöne Landschaft in und um Herdecke ist nicht zuletzt wegen der Seen und der Ruhr ideal für Fahrradfahrerinnen und Fahrradfahrer. Auch auf Mehrtagestouren ist Herdecke mit fahrradfreundlichen Unterkünften gut eingestellt. Zum Wandern bietet Herdecke mit dem Jakobsweg, dem WestfalenWanderWeg und der Route Industriekultur ebenfalls viele Möglichkeiten. Mit einer Kanutour lässt sich Herdecke vom Wasser aus erkunden.

Ein Besuch der Innenstadt sowie der historischen Altstadt mit ihrem unverwechselbaren Charme lohnt sich in jedem Fall. Ein Leitsystem, mit dem Besucherinnen und Besucher nach wenigen Metern vom Ruhrufer die angrenzende Altstadt erreichen können, weist den Weg durch das malerische Bachviertel und rund um den 1000 Jahre alten Stiftshügel. Nummerierte Hinweistafeln an historischen Gebäuden erleichtern eine lokalgeschichtliche Orientierung.

Koepchen-Pumpspeicherwerk

Industriekultur vom Feinsten

Details

Harkortsee

Etwa 2 km westlich der Einmündung der Volme in die Ruhr beginnt der Harkortsee und erstreckt sich nach Westen.

Details

Ruhrviadukt der Rheinischen Eisenbahn in Herdecke

Im Jahre 1877 begann man mit dem Bau dieses imposanten Viadukts:

Details

Altstadt Herdecke

Herdeckes Lage an der Ruhr zwischen Hengsteysee und Harkortsee ist privilegiert, was sich auch in der Stadt selbst widerspiegelt: klein aber fein präsentiert sich die historische Altstadt mit ihren schmucken Fachwerkhäusern.

Details

Der Hengsteysee

Genießen und entspannen

Details

Werner Richard - Dr. Carl Dörken Stiftung - KUNSTPAUSE

Kultur fördern, Engagement unterstützen und Werte erhalten, das sind die Ziele der Werner Richard - Dr. Carl Dörken Stiftung in Herdecke.
NRW-Kultusministerin Ute Schäfer nannte die Stiftung bei Ihrem Besuch ein „Juwel für die Region“.
Neben den Schwerpunkten Musik und Musikerziehung werden auch die Bereiche Sport, Bildung, Wissenschaft, Soziales und Denkmalschutz in Westfalen unterstützt.
Die Werner Richard – Dr. Carl Dörken Stiftung vergibt ebenso jährlich Musikstipendien an junge Ausnahme-Talente. Im Werner Richard Saal der Stiftung finden regelmäßige klassische, Jazz- und Weltmusik-Konzertreihen statt, wie z. B.: 'Meister von Morgen', 'Best of NRW' und 'Meister aus aller Welt'. Die ausgezeichnete Akustik nutzt der WDR häufig für Aufnahmen.

Zum Förderbereich Kunst (Dr. Carl Dörken Galerie) gehört die eigene Sammlung, die sich mit dem Phänomen Farbe auseinandersetzt. Werke aus der Sammlung 'Farbe als Farbe' werden Museen als Dauerleihgaben zur Verfügung gestellt. In einer zweiten Förderlinie kauft die Stiftung Werke junger Künstlerinnen und Künstler an, um ihnen Ausstellungen, Kataloge oder Studienaufenthalte zu ermöglichen.

Details

Loading

loader
Menü

Adresse

Stadt Herdecke

Kirchplatz 3
58313
 Herdecke

Telefon 02330 / 611212

Fax 02230 / 61115212
touristinfo@herdecke.de